Edutaining Kids .COM                        2015-2016 Holiday Gift Guides for Kids
Parents' Guide to Children's Products for Fun & Learning


Book Series Review:    Geronimo Stilton Chapter Books

Related Links


Children's Book Review: Geronimo Stilton Chapter Book Series

By: Geronimo Stilton

Published by: Scholastic

Released: 2004

Reviewed: February 2004

Our Recommended Age: 7-10

Our Rating: A
















Buy: #1: Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye; #2: Curse of the Cheese Pyramid; #3: Cat And Mouse In A Haunted House; #4: I'm Too Fond Of My Fur! at



The flash and lure of video games and television can make good old-fashioned books seem rather boring in the eyes of young children. Still, once children get turned on to reading, they're raring to go.   

There's a new series of chapter books on the market that doesn't star Barbie, Arthur, or any such recognizable character, yet still manages to attract young readers: Geronimo Stilton. 

This new series is a monthly series of chapter books featuring the adventures of Geronimo Stilton, a resident of Mouse Island, and a rather reluctant adventurer. The pages of these books come alive with full-color art as well as plenty of highlighted, colorful text that is often rebus style. Right away, young readers are drawn in. 

Geronimo Stilton is the number one bestselling series in Italy, surpassing even Harry Potter. The series has been translated into 36 languages in over 180 countries. This is Scholastic's first monthly series since Goosebumps.

The first four books in the series have been released, with new editions on their way each month: 

#1: Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye Geronimo's sister, Thea, finds a treasure map of an island, and the two quickly become involved in a fantastic treasure hunt.

#2: The Curse of the Cheese Pyramid Geronimo travels to Egypt to interview an archaeologist, but becomes lost inside the Great Cheese Pyramid along the way.

#3: Cat and Mouse in a Haunted House Cats haunt an old castle that Geronimo finds when he loses his way in a dark forest.

#4: I'm Too Fond of My Fur Geronimo visits Mouse Everest, and getting there is an adventure in itself.

The vocabulary used in the books is strong, so although the series is great for reluctant readers, it's not ideal for struggling readers. These books are hearty reads, presented in such a manner that they seem like light fare. Excellent!


Our Rating:




[For more information, or to buy: #1: Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye; #2: Curse of the Cheese Pyramid; #3: Cat And Mouse In A Haunted House; #4: I'm Too Fond Of My Fur!]

OR: See All: Geronimo Stilton Chapter Books


Back to Book Guide


Reviewed February 2004
Comments? Email us.





See also:









Guides to:  SoftwareVideos - DVDsBooksToysMusic,  & Video Games
Guides by Age:  ToddlersPreschoolersKids 5-8Kids 9-up, Families
Index to All Reviews    Index to All Articles
Shopping Guide   Family Internet Guide

What's New   Contact Us   About Us   Search Main